A BRIEF HISTORICAL SKETCH

Our congregation of Sharon St. John is the result of the uniting of two former Presbyterian Congregations of Sharon and St. John. The Sharon Presbyterian Congregation was formally organized on Feb.19th,1866 by Rev. Alexander Ross and it was under the ministry of Rev. A.J. Mowatt that the original Sharon Church was built on the lower side and north end of what is now MacKay St., then known as Riverbank. A new wooden church was built on our present site in 1889. On Feb. 24, 1924 this wooden structure was destroyed by fire, and was replaced by the present brick building. The Sunday School children took 10¢ a Sunday to buy a brick to help build their new church. Sharon Congregation became a

part of the United Church of Canada in 1925. Our present church was completed and dedicated on Feb. 21, 1926.

In 1925, the former Methodist Congregation of Stellarton, which had built its first church **during** the **mini**stry of Rev. John Cassidy in 1862 united with the St. John (Kirk) Congregation to form the St. John United Church. In 1934, the last Sunday in October, Sharon and St. John Congregations were united into one Congregation. Our Church Hall was opened and dedicated on 1963 under the ministry of Rev. D.C. Boothroyd. The first sod was turned the previous year by Mrs. Harry Cutten and Colin MacKay on Good Friday, April 20th, 1962.

It has been 47 years since our Sharon St. John Congregation was formed and the following is a list of ministers who have served this congregation: Rev. Dr. G.M. Young 1934-36 Rev. D.M. Grant 1936-38

 Rev. T.E. MacLennan
 1938-43

 Rev. Dr. R.D. MacIntosh
 1943-54

 Rev. D.C. Boothroyd
 1954-63

 Rev. D.H. Gass
 1963-74

 Rev. R.E. Johnston
 1974-80

 Rev. N.D. MacDougall
 1980